跳到主要内容
01.09.2021 作者:Jennifer Dingman,Senior 副President ,整合媒体战略

社交不再。对来去匆匆的平台的分析

两只手盘旋在手机上,上面漂浮着社交媒体图标。

我必须承认,当一个新的社交媒体平台上升到排行榜的顶端时,我仍然感到惊讶。市场上有数以千计的平台,要克服完善的竞争,创造独特的东西并产生令人印象深刻的用户群是很困难的。因此,当一个平台确实取得了突破,当他们像攀登一样快速崩溃时,可能会令人震惊。为什么有的平台发展得很好,而有的却失败了呢?让我们看看一些曾经流行的平台,它们已经不复存在。

藤本植物

这一次可能伤害最大。Vine被认为是将视频推到了风口浪尖;该应用程序帮助彻底改变了人们在社交网络上创建和分享短视频的方式。该应用程序的受欢迎程度迅速增长,甚至导致了Vine名人的产生。在2013年Twitter ,他们努力跟上竞争对手的步伐--即Instagram和Snapchat,它们迅速推出新的视频功能。

猫鼬

Vine对社交视频分享的贡献,Meerkat对社交直播的贡献。这个创新的视频平台允许用户在他们的智能手机上启动和观看直播。没过多久,像Facebook和Twitter 这样的大牌社交媒体巨头就在其成熟的平台上重新创造了这个想法。不幸的是,在Meerkat发布后不久,Twitter 收购了竞争对手的视频直播应用Periscope,Meerkat在竞争中屈服。

Google Plus

为了挑战 Facebook 和Twitter ,谷歌于 2011 年推出了 Google Plus。该社交网络平台在最初几年增长强劲,但差异化不足,无法真正与其他平台竞争或抢夺份额。到 2019 年,Google Plus 被曝出 90% 的用户会话时间不足 5 秒,随后开始关闭。哎哟

随着我们继续看到来自主导者的激烈竞争,对隐私的担忧不断增加,以及用户行为和偏好的变化,哪些平台将在未来几年内成为绝版?也许这是一个不受欢迎的观点,但我忍不住想知道Clubhouse、Tumblr和Snapchat是否有一个到期日在逼近。在我看来,这些只是一些平台,它们将不得不努力工作以保持用户的参与和活跃。只有时间能证明这一点--如果他们失败了,总是有希望卷土重来的故事(看着你 YikYak).

这一切对营销人员意味着什么?当 "下一个大事件 "出现时,我们很容易就会被明星的目光所吸引。与其涌向提供独特东西的最新平台,不如坚持有效的公式:了解你的受众,确定哪些平台最适合接触这些受众(知道它们可能随着时间的推移而改变),并在那里建立一个积极的、有意义的存在。

 

最新文章

09.07.2024
为什么真实性是公司和领导层驾驭复杂性的超级能力?
现在阅读
图片展示了 9 个戛纳国际电影节图标,并配有文字说明:Current @ Cannes - 2Gold, 1Silver, 6Bronze 。
24.06.2024
Current Global 闪耀 2024 年戛纳国际创意节。
现在阅读
07.06.2024
女性,让我们给自己恩典:2024 年《公关周刊》医疗保健会议的收获。
现在阅读

请与我们联系

我们致力于解决最棘手的业务和品牌挑战。我们很乐意与您探讨如何帮助您点燃火花。

hello@currentglobal.com

By continuing to browse our site you agree to our use of Cookies, Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions
Skip to main content
01.09.2021 By Jennifer Dingman, Senior Vice President, Integrated Media Strategy

Social No More: An Analysis of Platforms Come and Gone

Two hands hovering over mobile phones with social media icons floating above.

I must admit, I’m still surprised when a new social media platform rises to the top of the charts. With literally thousands of platforms in the marketplace, it’s difficult to overcome the well-established competition, create something unique and generate an impressive userbase. So, when a platform does break through, it can be shocking when they crumble as fast as they climbed. Why do some platforms thrive while others fail? Let’s look at some of the once-popular platforms that no longer exist:

Vine

This one might hurt the most. Vine is credited for propelling video into the limelight; the app helped revolutionize how people created and shared short-form videos on social. The popularity of the app grew quickly and even led to the creation of Vine celebrities. Shortly after Twitter purchased the app in 2013, they struggled to keep pace with competitors – namely Instagram and Snapchat, which were quick to introduce new video capabilities.

Meerkat

What Vine did for social video sharing, Meerkat did for social livestreaming. This innovative video platform allowed users to launch and view live broadcasts on their smartphone. It didn’t take long for big-name social media giants like Facebook and Twitter to recreate this idea on their well-established platforms. Unfortunately, shortly after Meerkat’s release, Twitter acquired rival live-video app Periscope and Meerkat succumbed to the competition.

Google Plus

To challenge Facebook and Twitter, Google launched Google Plus in 2011. The social networking platform saw strong growth in its initial years but didn’t differentiate itself enough to truly compete or steal share from other platforms. By 2019, Google Plus started to shut down after it was revealed that 90% of Google Plus user sessions were less than five seconds. Ouch.

As we continue to see stiff competition from the dominant players, rising concerns over privacy and shifting user behaviors and preferences, which platforms will become extinct in the years ahead? Perhaps an unpopular opinion, but I can’t help but wonder whether Clubhouse, Tumblr and Snapchat have an expiration date looming. In my opinion, these are just a few platforms that will have to work hard to keep users engaged and active. Only time will tell – and if they fail, there’s always hope for a comeback story (looking at you YikYak).

What does this all mean for marketers? It’s easy to get star-studded eyes when the “next big thing” pops up. Instead of flocking to the newest platform that offers something unique, stick to the formula that works: understand your audiences, identify which platforms are best suited to reach those audiences (knowing they may change over time) and establish an active, meaningful presence there.

 

Recent articles

Decorative blue flag declaring the dates of National Hispanic Heritage Month.
16.09.2021
Honoring Hispanic Heritage Month: Resources to Learn, Read, Explore and More
Read now
Rebecca Roussell as a smiling graduate surrounded by other graduates.
17.08.2021
Buckle Up: It’s Been a (Somewhat) Bumpy, Yet Wonderful Ride
Read now
Olympics closing ceremony with four figures in white in front of the Olympic flame. One is holding up the american flag.
11.08.2021
New-Era Sports Heroes
Read now

Let's talk

We thrive on solving the toughest brand and business challenges, and we’d love to discuss how we can help you win the moment.

hello@currentglobal.com