跳到主要内容
05.08.2020 作者:Lakshmi Rajendran,英国总监、 Current Global

在意想不到的地方学习领导艺术

照片中,一名妇女用手展示她的番茄植株。她正在展示植株上的一个绿色小番茄。

我是植物杀手好了,我说出来了。尽管我有很多良好的愿望,但我从来没有让一棵植物存活过很长一段时间。我总是认为自己没有照顾好它们的能力(指甲里的泥土? 不,谢谢)。或者,在更夸张的时候,我以为是我个人的某些特质让植物想要枯萎死亡。

但现在是非常时期。非常时期需要非常选择。因此,当封锁开始后,我公寓的庭院成了我在一段时间内唯一可能呆的室外空间,我决定给几盆植物 死罪 再试一次。

一开始,我选择了一些标准盆栽,主要是看它们的花是什么颜色,而不是了解它们可能需要什么样的条件或照料。不瞒你说,有几盆植物没能熬过第一周。到目前为止都是这样。但我还是坚持了下来,用一对樱桃番茄苗代替了这些早早退出的番茄苗,我决心要看到它们真正结果。

两周前,我在其中一株植物上发现了一个小番茄,从那时起,我就觉得自己是不可战胜的,同时也感到害怕。有了一些思考的时间(#lockdownliving),我意识到,不知何故,这一次变得不同了--这种不同让我学到了一些关于如何设定和满足自己期望的经验教训。如果我想把这些经验教训进一步延伸,其中有一些适用于工作场所和我在团队中扮演的领导者角色。

  1. 领导力就像园艺一样,是一种技能,而不是天赋--虽然园艺可能是一种冠冕堂皇的说法,用来形容不主动杀死一对番茄植物,但教训依然存在。听到 "绿色拇指 "或 "天生的领导者 "这样的短语,我们很容易就会认为这是某些人与生俱来的天赋,而我(或你)却没有。但事实并非如此。无论你是谁,成为一名优秀的领导者(或园丁)都需要耐心、努力和意愿。有些人可能比其他人更喜欢某些事情,但如果你相信马尔科姆-格拉德韦尔(Malcom Gladwell)的 "一万小时法则 "的原则(如果不是具体细节的话)(我也相信),只要愿意付出努力,任何人都可以学会成为一名(更好的)领导者。
  2. 微观管理是行不通的--从我第一次发现那颗西红柿开始,我每天都在看它,但它一次也没有在我眼前长大。每天早上我回来给它浇水时,它只是长大了一点点。关注你的团队和他们正在做的工作很重要,但每时每刻都去检查他们的工作并不能帮助工作更快更好地完成。
  3. 额外的关怀总是有帮助的--当然,你可以只用水让植物存活,但植物的食物可以帮助它茁壮成长,而不仅仅是生存。你可以为你的团队做所有的基本工作,但更深入地了解是什么让他们心动,他们希望从他们的职业生涯中得到什么,或者他们想做什么样的工作,几乎总是能让他们更投入、更有成效。
  4. 例行公事和规律性很重要--在不透露太多情况的前提下,我早期种植的一些植物可能会因为天气转暖而忘记每天浇水而枯死。尤其是当我们周围的世界似乎每时每刻都在发生变化时,我们很容易就会忘记过去我们就工作生活中的一些非物质因素进行沟通和联系的方式。每周查看某人的工作情况可能是通过视频通话而不是喝咖啡进行的,但它仍然需要进行。
  5. 如果花朵掉落,不要惊慌失措 --陌生或意外的时刻是每个过程的一部分。你能做的最好的事情就是搞清楚为什么会出现这种情况,思考如何为下一次制定更好的计划,并帮助你的团队理解为什么这不是世界末日。
  6. 如果你不在他们身边,就不要让他们闲着 --有一段时间,今年的暑假似乎不会到来。现在看来是有了。随着我出国旅行的日期日益临近,我意识到不能让我的植物自生自灭两个星期。我已经安排好心的邻居给我的西红柿浇水,我也已经做了同样的安排,确保我不在的时候,我的团队周围有其他的senior 支持。

虽然这些经验教训对我很有价值,但我不能自欺欺人,以为自己突然就成了园艺大师或领导大师。不过,就像我之前说的,这些都是学来的技能,都需要付出努力。我一直都是一个乐于助人的领导者,但仅凭一个(真的很小的)西红柿,我现在也成了一个乐于助人的园丁。

最新文章

09.07.2024
为什么真实性是公司和领导层驾驭复杂性的超级能力?
现在阅读
图片展示了 9 个戛纳国际电影节图标,并配有文字说明:Current @ Cannes - 2Gold, 1Silver, 6Bronze 。
24.06.2024
Current Global 闪耀 2024 年戛纳国际创意节。
现在阅读
07.06.2024
女性,让我们给自己恩典:2024 年《公关周刊》医疗保健会议的收获。
现在阅读

请与我们联系

我们致力于解决最棘手的业务和品牌挑战。我们很乐意与您探讨如何帮助您点燃火花。

hello@currentglobal.com

By continuing to browse our site you agree to our use of Cookies, Privacy Policy and Terms & Conditions
05.08.2020 By Lakshmi Rajendran, UK Director, Current Global

Leadership lessons in unexpected places

Photograph of a woman's hand showing off her tomato plant. She is showing the one small green tomato on the plant.

I’m a plant killer. There, I said it. Despite a lot of good intentions, I’ve never managed to keep a plant alive for any significant period of time. I’ve always assumed I didn’t have the right disposition to look after them (soil under my nails? No thanks). Or, in more melodramatic moments, I assumed there was just something about me personally that made plants want to wither up and die.

But these are unusual times. And unusual times call for uncharacteristic choices. So when lockdown kicked in, and the patio of my flat was the only outdoor space I was likely to spend time in for a while, I decided to give a few plants a death sentence another try.

I started off with a few standard potted plants, selected mostly on the basis of what colour their flowers were rather than any kind of knowledge of what kind of conditions or care they might need. I won’t lie to you, a few of them did not make it past the first week. So far so usual. But I persisted, replacing these early quitters with a pair of cherry tomato seedlings I was determined to see through to actual fruit.

Two weeks ago, I found a single tiny tomato on one of the plants and I have felt equal parts invincible and terrified ever since. Having some time on my hands to think (#lockdownliving), I realised that somehow this time had been different – and that difference had taught me a few lessons about the way in which I had set and met my own expectations. And if I were to try and extend those lessons out further, there are a few in there that apply to the workplace and the role I play as a leader in my team.

  1. Leadership, like gardening, is a skill, not a talent – while gardening is probably a grandiose way to describe not actively killing a pair of tomato plants, the lesson remains. It’s easy to hear phrases like ‘green thumb’ or ‘natural leader’ and assume that these are innate talents that some people have and that I (or you) don’t. But they aren’t. Whoever you are, being a good leader (or gardener for that matter) takes patience, effort and willingness. Some people may skew towards liking some things more than others do, but if you believe in the principle (if not the specifics) of Malcom Gladwell’s 10,000-hour rule (which I do) anyone can learn to be a (better) leader if they are willing to do the work.
  2. Micromanaging doesn’t work – I’ve been looking at that single tomato every day since I first spotted it, but it hasn’t once grown in front of my eyes. It’s just a tiny bit bigger every morning when I come back to water it. It’s important to keep an eye on your team and the work they’re doing but checking up on them every minute doesn’t help the job get done any sooner or better.
  3. Extra care always helps – sure you can keep a plant alive with just water, but plant food helps it thrive, not just survive. You can do all the basics for your team but taking a deeper interest in what makes them tick, what they want from their careers or what kind of work they want to do almost always ends in a more engaged and productive outcome.
  4. Routine and regularity matter – without giving too much away, there’s a chance some of my early plants died because the weather got warmer and I forgot to water them every day. Particularly when the world around us seems to be changing on a minute-by-minute basis, it’s easy to forget some of the ways in which we used to communicate and connect about the non-tangible elements of work life. That weekly check in to see how someone is doing may be happening over a video call rather than over a coffee, but it still needs to take place.
  5. Don’t freak out if the flowers fall off – unfamiliar or unexpected moments are part of every process. The best you can do is figure out why those moments happen, think how you can plan better for the next time and help your team understand why it’s not the end of the world.
  6. Don’t leave them hanging if you’re not around – for a while it didn’t look like summer holidays were going to happen this year. Now it looks like they are. As the date of my travel abroad inches closer, I realise I can’t just leave my plants to fend for themselves for a fortnight. Just as I’ve arranged for a kindly neighbour to water my tomatoes, I’ve done the same with making sure there’s alternative senior support around for my team while I’m away.

While these lessons have been valuable to me, I can’t kid myself that I’m suddenly a master gardener – or leader. But to my earlier point, these are learned skills and they both take effort. I’ve always been a willing leader but with just one (truly tiny) tomato to show for it I’m now a willing gardener too.

Recent articles

Photograph of toy soldiers posed with guns drawn.
22.09.2020
Reimagining Marcoms With Strategic Intent
Read now
Example of INRIX data visualization on a map of the United States. The image on the left reflects the lower than usual traffic movement at the height of lockdown, while the image on the right shows the impact once lockdowns began lifting.
15.09.2020
How to Approach Data-Driven Storytelling
Read now
Photographic image of the Super Bowl trophy being lifted in celebration.
09.09.2020
Are You Ready For Some Football?
Read now

Let's talk

We thrive on solving the toughest brand and business challenges, and we’d love to discuss how we can help you win the moment.

hello@currentglobal.com